NFL Timeline Evolution of the Game

NFL is running “Timeline/Evolution of the Game”, an integrated advertising campaign raising awareness about new rules and regulations that have come to pass over the years since the early 1900s. The Super Bowl commercial at the heart of the campaign races through decades and stadiums, from a field in Los Angeles to Lambeau Field, Old Mile High Stadium, Soldier Field and the LA Memorial Coliseum. The Evolution of the Game microsite,, features an evolutionary timeline of equipment and rule changes over the years. Players of the Moment are Jim Thorpe, Paddy Driscoll (1920s) Morris Red Badgro (1930s) Tony Canadeo (1940s), Ollie Matson (1960s), Gale Sayers (1960s), Rick Upchurch (1970s), Mel Gray (1980s), Deion Sanders (1990s) and Devin Hester (2000s).

Pre NFL Evolution

Click on the image below to play the Evolution of the Game video.

NFL Evolution Credits

The Timeline campaign was developed at Grey New York by chief creative officer Tor Myhren, executive creative director Eric Segal, art director Eric Stiles, copywriter Katherine O’Brien, agency producer Alison Horn, account director Max Kislevitz, and assistant account executive Noorin Bhanji

Filming was shot by director Peter Berg via Pony Show Entertainment, with executive producer Susan Kirson, producer Helga Gruber.

Editor was Damion Clayton at Rock Paper Scissors with assistant editor Michael Horan.

Post production and visual effecs were produced at The Mill, New York, by executive producer Adam Isidore, VFX producer Dan Roberts, color producer Dee Allen, shoot supervisors Corey Brown, Joshua Frankel, Martin Rivera, 2D lead artists Westley Sarokin, 3D lead artists Ruben Vandebroek, Wyatt Savarese, 2D artists Adam Grint, Jade Kim, Ella Boliver, Randy McEntee, Gigi Ng, 3D artists Tim Kim, Joshua Frankel, Peter Panton, Atsuki Hirose, Jackie Liao, Craig Sylvester, Jonathan Lee, Zang Chen, Bogdan Mihajlovic, Kris Rivel, assist team Randy Krueger, Albert Cook, Rob Meade, Patrick Mahoney, motion graphics team Emmett Dzieza, Caleb Halter, Marco Giampaolo, colourist Fergus McCall, creative development team Ben Smith and Rama Allen, pre vis supervisor Josh Frankel, pre vis artists Daniel Bollwerk, Darryl Pfeil and Long-Hai Pham.

Sound engineer Phil Loeb at Heard City. Sound was designed by Bill Chesley at HenryBoy.

Pre NFL Timeline 1920s
Pre NFL Timeline 2000s