MTV Video Music Awards 2016

MTV has released the nominations for the MTV Video Music Awards 2016 with a live Facebook announcement, connected with a panoramic mural at First Street Green Art Park in New York’s East Village. The Video of the Year nominees are presented with a wall each: Adele (“Hello”), Beyoncé (“Formation”), Drake (“Hotline Bling”), Justin Bieber (“Sorry”) and Kanye West (“Famous”). Other categories are presented alongside. The mural was created by artists John Paul Ogrodnick and BD White (Drake), Damien Mitchell (Kanye West), Marc Evan (Adele), Resa (Justin Bieber), BKFoxx (Beyonce), @nyc_graffhead, Queen Andrea, Hektad, Giz (Hip Hop), Such and Poem One. Beyoncé has 11 nominations, including Video of the Year for “Formation” and the newest VMA category, Breakthrough Long Form Video, for her groundbreaking HBO special Lemonade. The 2016 MTV Video Music Awards will air live from Madison Square Garden on Sunday, August 28 at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

MTV MVA Video of the Year mural

MTV Video Music Awards 2016 – Video of the Year

Adele – “Hello
Beyoncé – “Formation”
Drake – “Hotline Bling”
Justin Bieber – “Sorry”
Kanye West – “Famous”

MTV Video Music Awards 2016 mural Adele Hello
MTV Video Music Awards 2016 mural Beyonce Formation
MTV Video Music Awards 2016 mural Drake Hotline Bling
MTV Video Music Awards 2016 mural Justin Bieber Sorry
MTV Video Music Awards 2016 mural Kanye West Famous

MTV Video Music Awards 2016 – Best Female Video

Adele – “Hello”
Beyoncé – “Hold Up”
Sia – “Cheap Thrills”
Ariana Grande – “Into You”
Rihanna ft. Drake – “Work” (short version)

MTV Video Music Awards 2016 – Best Male Video

Drake – “Hotline Bling”
Bryson Tiller – “Don’t”
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – “This Is What You Came For”
Kanye West – “Famous”
The Weeknd – “Can’t Feel My Face”

Best Collaboration

Beyoncé ft. Kendrick Lamar – “Freedom”
Fifth Harmony ft. Ty Dolla $ign – “Work From Home”
Ariana Grande ft. Lil Wayne – “Let Me Love You”
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – “This Is What You Came For”
Rihanna ft. Drake – “Work” (short version)

Best Hip Hop Video

Drake – “Hotline Bling”
Desiigner – “Panda”
Bryson Tiller – “Don’t”
Chance The Rapper ft. Saba – “Angels”
2 Chainz – “Watch Out”

Best Pop Video

Adele – “Hello”
Beyoncé – “Formation”
Justin Bieber – “Sorry”
Alessia Cara – “Wild Things”
Ariana Grande – “Into You”

Best Rock Video

All Time Low – “Missing You”
Coldplay – “Adventure Of A Lifetime”
Fall Out Boy ft. Demi Lovato – “Irresistible”
twenty one pilots – “Heathens”
Panic! At The Disco – “Victorious”

Best Electronic Video

Calvin Harris & Disciples – “How Deep Is Your Love”
99 Souls ft. Destiny’s Child & Brandy – “The Girl Is Mine”
Mike Posner – “I Took A Pill In Ibiza”
Afrojack – “SummerThing!”
The Chainsmokers ft. Daya – “Don’t Let Me Down”

Breakthrough Long Form Video

Florence + The Machine – “The Odyssey”
Beyoncé – “Lemonade”
Justin Bieber – “PURPOSE: The Movement”
Chris Brown – “Royalty”
Troye Sivan – “Blue Neighbourhood Trilogy”

Best New Artist

Presented by Taco Bell®
Bryson Tiller
Zara Larsson
Lukas Graham


Presented by Orbit® Gum

Best Art Direction

Beyoncé – “Hold Up” (Production Designer: Jason Hougaard)
Fergie – “M.I.L.F. $” (Production Designer: Alexander Delgado)
Drake – “Hotline Bling” (Production Designer: Jeremy MacFarlane)
David Bowie – “Blackstar” (Production Designer: Jan Houllevigue)
Adele – “Hello” (Production Designer: Colombe Raby)

Best Choreography

Beyoncé – “Formation” (Choreographer: Chris Grant, JaQuel Knight, Dana Foglia)
Missy Elliott ft. Pharrell – “WTF (Where They From)” (Choreographer: Hi-Hat)
Beyoncé – “Sorry” (Choreographer: Chris Grant, JaQuel Knight, Dana Foglia, Anthony Burrell, Beyoncé Knowles Carter)
FKA Twigs – “M3LL155X” (Choreographer: FKA Twigs)
Florence + The Machine – “Delilah” (Choreographer: Holly Blakey)

Best Direction

Beyoncé – “Formation” (Director: Melina Matsoukas)
Coldplay – “Up&Up” (Director: Vania Heymann, Gal Muggia)
Adele – “Hello” (Director: Xavier Dolan)
David Bowie – “Lazarus” (Director: Johan Renck)
Tame Impala – “The Less I Know The Better” (Director: Canada)

Best Cinematography

Beyoncé – “Formation” (Cinematographer: Malik Sayeed)
Adele – “Hello” (Cinematographer: André Turpin)
David Bowie – “Lazarus” (Cinematographer: Crille Forsberg)
Alesso – “I Wanna Know” (Cinematographer: Corey Jennings)
Ariana Grande – “Into You” (Cinematographer: Paul Laufer)

Best Editing

Beyoncé – “Formation” (Editor: Jeff Selis)
Adele – “Hello” (Editor: Xavier Dolan)
Fergie – “M.I.L.F. $” (Editor: Vinnie Hobbs)
David Bowie – “Lazarus” (Editor: Johan Söderberg)
Ariana Grande – “Into You” (Editor: Hannah Lux Davis)

Best Visual Effects

Coldplay – “Up&Up” (VFX Editor: Vania Heymann)
FKA Twigs – “M3LL155X” (VFX Editor: Lewis Saunders, Jihoon Yoo)
Adele – “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)” (VFX Editor: Sam Sneade)
The Weeknd – “Can’t Feel My Face” (VFX Editor: Bryan Smaller)
Zayn – “PILLOWTALK” (VFX Editor: David Smith)

Filed under: MTV Video Music Awards