Bjork Lionsong

Bjork has released the music video for Lion Song, marking the release of the first single from her new album Vulnicura and the opening of her exhibition at Museum of Modern art in New York. Bjork appears in the video adorned with starlight and glowing embers, her beating heart revealed, and her body proportions shifting with the music.

Bjork Lionsong

Matt Pascuzzi, Nuke artist at Framestore explains some of the thinking behind the effects:

“Inez & Vinoodh had some fantastic ideas about what they wanted and supplied some beautiful initial reference, that had a painterly style not dissimilar to traditional religious iconography, of characters covered in starlight. That, along with their existing album artwork, gave us some pretty beautiful reference to work from and I am immensely proud of our New York compositing and 3D teams who, in every sense, did this job for the art.”

Film directors Inez and Vinoodh talk about their inspiration:

“Björk’s character for ‘Lionsong’ had to be smooth like a spider waiting in her web and seductive like a Balinese dancer cast in bronze. She is seen as if under a microscope, baring her heart while luring us inside the bloody galaxy of her own wound.”

Bjork Lionsong Music Video Credits

Filming was shot directors Inez van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin via The Collective Shift with director of photography Jodokus Driessen, editor Otto Arsenault, producer Stephanie Bargas, stylist Mel Ottenberg, hair stylist Christiaan, make up artist Dick Page, and movement director Stephen Galloway.

Digital work was done at VLM Studio by producers Jeff Lepine and Jon Barlow, digital technician Brian Anderson, studio manager Mark Kroop.

Colorist was Tim Masick at Company 3.

Visual effects were produced at Framestore by producer Nicholas Dziekonski, compositing lead Corrina Wilson, Nuke team Matt Pascuzzi, Mayu Saito, Karch Coon, Sang Kim, Greg Gaskins, Sebastien Boulange, Euna Kho, Hieu Phan and SungEun Moon, CG lead Andy Rowan-Robinson, FX artist Georgios Cherouvim, tracking team Will Frazier and Tucker Prisco, and Flame team Raul Ortego, Greg Cutler and Joe Wenkoff.

Titles were produced at M/M, Paris.