KONY 2012

Invisible Children, a film directing collective in the USA, has launched “KONY 2012”, a film and campaign designed to raise public awareness of Joseph Kony, head of the Ugandan guerrilla group Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA). Kony and his forces have abducted and forced an estimated 66,000 children to fight for them, and have forced the internal displacement of over 2 million people since their rebellion began in 1986. Despite being named as a war criminal by the International Criminal Court in 2005, Kony has evaded capture. The 30 minute video, narrated by director Jason Russell, appeals to the general public to sign a pledge, “I pledge to to help make Joseph Kony famous by watching and sharing KONY 2012. I will use my voice to influence cultural and policy makers to raise the profile of the conflict. I will Stop at Nothing.”

KONY 2012 Premiere billboard

Click on the image below to play the video in YouTube

The KONY 2012 campaign, online on Twitter, Facebook, includes a range of t-shirts, posters, badges available for sale on invisiblechildrenstore.myshopify.com. The poster features the Republican elephant and Democrat donkey joined by a dove of peace.

KONY 2012 Stop at Nothing poster

KONY 2012 kit

KONY 2012 bundle

KONY 2012 Agree On T-shirt

KONY 2012 Stop a War T-shirt

KONY 2012 Lady Justice T-shirt


The KONY 2012 film was produced by director/writer Jason Russell, lead editor Kathryn Lang, editors Kevin Trout, Jay Salbert and Jesse Eslinger, lead animator Chad Clendinen, animator Jesse Eslinger, 3D modeler Victor Soto, VFX artist Chris Hop, writers Jedidiah Jenkins, Kathryn Lang, Danica Russell, Ben Keesey and Azy Groth, producers Kimmy Vandivort, Heather Longerbeam, Chad Clendinen and Noelle Jouglet, original music composer Joel P. West, sound mixers Stephen Grubbs and Mark Friedgen at Smart Post Sound, colorist Damian Pelphrey at Company 3, cinematography team Jason Russell, Bobby Bailey, Laren Poole, Gavin Kelly, Chad Clendinen, Kevin Trout, Jay Salbert, Shannon Lynch, production designer Jaime Landsverk, lead designer Tyler Fordham, designers Chadwick Gantes and Stephen Witmer.

Music Credits

“02 Ghosts I”, performed by Nine Inch Nails
Written by Atticus Ross and Trent Reznor
Produced by Alan Moulder, Atticus Ross, and Trent Reznor
Nine Inch Nails appear courtesy of The Null Corporation

“Punching in a Dream”
Performed by The Naked and Famous
Written by Aaron Short, Alisa Xayalith, and Thom Powers
Produced by Thom Powers
The Naked and Famous appear courtesy of Somewhat Damaged and Universal Republic

“Arrival of the Birds”
Performed by The Cinematic Orchestra
Written by The Cinematic Orchestra
Produced by The Cinematic Orchestra
The Cinematic Orchestra appears courtesy of Disney Records

“Roll Away Your Stone”
Performed by Mumford and Sons
Written by Benjamin Lovett, Edward Dwane, Marcus Mumford, and Winston Marshall
Produced by Markus Dravs
Mumford and Sons appear courtesy of Glassnote Entertainment Group LLC

“On (Instrumental)”
Performed by Bloc Party
Written by Bloc Party
Produced by Jacknife Lee
Bloc Party appears courtesy of Vice Records

“A Dream within a Dream”
Performed by The Glitch Mob
The Glitch Mob appears courtesy of Glass Air

“I Can’t Stop”
Performed by Flux Pavilion
Flux Pavilion appears courtesy of Circus Records Limited