Mercedes Tweet Race to Super Bowl

Mercedes-Benz USA (MBUSA) is harnessing Twitter activity to power four teams racing to arrive at the Super Bowl XLV in Dallas, Texas. The Tweet Race, launched on the Mercedes Benz USA Facebook page, put four two-person driving teams behind the wheels of specially equipped 2011 Mercedes-Benz vehicles, each embarking separately from Chicago, Los Angeles and New York and Tampa, on February 2 and converging on February 4 at Cowboys Stadium outside Dallas, Texas. Competing for a pair of all-new 2012 C-Class Coupes, teams had the help of Twitter–savvy celebrities, who, in the role of Team Coach, rallied online support for their assigned teams and raised money for charity in the process. The four drivers, each riding with a co-driver of their choosing, were selected from a field of nearly 2000 applicants, on the basis of social-media prowess and personality. In a random drawing, each driving team was then assigned a city to start from and a Mercedes-Benz vehicle to match.

Mercedes Tweet Race map

Members of these four driving teams prepared for the race over three weeks mobilizing their Twitter followings, adding more to their ranks, and urging people to join their team on the Mercedes-Benz USA Facebook Page. Supporters who officially join a team before the race begins were entered to win a VIP trip for two to the Mercedes-Benz sponsored event of their choice (2011 US Open, Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in September 2011 or the 2011 PGA Championship) if their team wins. Get up to minute race news on Twitter by following the Race Director @MbtweetraceHQ, following progress on the Tweet Race map.

Click on the image below to play the Tweet Race promotional video.

TEAM CL features Studio City TV personality Layla Kayleigh with Julissa Bermudez, with team coach Rev Run, supporting the Lower Eastside Service Center in New York. The team left from New York City driving the 2011 Mercedes-Benz CL550 4MATIC Coupe.

TEAM E features Chicago creative technologist/twitterer Len Kendall with co-driver John Morrison, coached by New York Yankees outfielder Nick Swisher supporting Swish’s Wishes. The team left from Tampa, Florida driving the 2011 Mercedes-Benz E550 Cabriolet.

TEAM GL features Wilmette Illinois driver Jennifer Marshall and co-driver Meredith Sinclair coached by tennis player Serena Williams supporting The Serena Williams Foundation. The team leaves from Chicago, Illinois driving the 2011 Mercedes-Benz GL350 BlueTEC Clean Diesel SUV.

TEAM S features Wisconsin residents Todd Sanders and Co-Driver John Pederson coached by Black Cards frontman Pete Wentz, supporting the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. The team left from Los Angeles driving the 2011 Mercedes-Benz S400 HYBRID Sedan.

Mercedes Tweet Race Leaderboard

On February 2, the driving teams left from their respective locations, attempting to generate as much Twitter activity, or “Tweet Fuel” as possible for their journey to Dallas. Over a three-day period, they earned points not only for collecting Tweet Fuel, but for their performance on a series of social media-related challenges they faced along the way. The team that reached the Finish Line with the highest total score will be declared the winner. The driver and co-driver each receive an all-new 2012 C-Class Coupe.

Tweet Race Videos

Engineers conduct the first round of tests for the Tweet Race Prototype at the Mercedes-Benz Glenview test center. Witness the exact moment when they were finally able to get Twitter and vehicle to communicate directly. Click on the image below to play the Prototype 1 video.

With the world’s first Twitter-fueled race approaching quickly, Mercedes engineers worked hard conducting tests for the Tweet Race Prototype. Watch how they boldly maneuver it into a parking spot right next to an SLS AMG, using only Twitter. Click on the image below to play the Prototype 2 video.

Click on the image below to play the Day 1 Recap video.

Click on the image below to play the Day 2 Recap video.


The Tweet Race campaign concept was developed at Merkley and Partners.

The Tweet Race was developed and implemented at Razorfish.