We Are The World 25 for Haiti

“We Are the World” has been re-recorded as “We Are The World 25 For Haiti”, a track and video launched during the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics Opening Ceremony. The original, written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie, was produced by Quincy Jones and Michael Omartian for the 1985 album We Are the World. The new single has been adapted to focus efforts to support those effected by the earthquake in Haiti, online at wearethefoundation.org.

We Are The World 25 for Haiti

Click on the image below to play the official 8:32 minutes music video.

Quincy Jones and Lionel Richie had planned to organize a re-recording of “We Are the World” on January 28, 2010, the 25th anniversary of the original recording of the song. The January 12 earthquake in Haiti changed everything. Recording was postponed until February 1, bringing together artists who had already gathered for the Grammy Awards in Los Angles, together in Henson Recording Studios, the same studio as the original 25 years earlier (formerly A&M Recording Studios). The original lyrics were tweaked by Lionel Richie for a fresh feel and will.i.am wrote a rap extension. Producer RedOne gave the music a rhythmic face lift and Wyclef Jean applied a Haitian lilt to the track all under the direction of Paul Haggis.

Download the single from iTunes. Download the music video from iTunes.


The recording was produced by executive producers Quincy Jones and Lionel Richie, executive producers Wyclef Jean, Randy Phillips and Peter Tortorici; producers Humberto Gattica and RedOne; and co-producers Rickey Minor, Mervyn Warren and Patti Austin.

Filming was shot by director and executive producer Paul Haggis with executive producers Quincy Jones, Lionel Richie, Wyclef Jean, Randy Phillips and Peter Tortorici.

Click on the image below to play Quincy Jones’ Thanks video.

Soloists in the video, in order, are Justin Bieber, Jennifer Hudson, Jennifer Nettles, Josh Groban, Tony Bennett, Mary J. Blige, Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson, Barbra Streisand, Miley Cyrus, Enrique Iglesias, Jamie Foxx, Wyclef Jean, Adam Levine, P!nk, BeBe Winans, Usher, Celine Dion, Fergie, Nicole Scherzinger, Nick Jonas (of Jonas Brothers), Toni Braxton, Mary Mary, Isaac Slade, Lil’ Wayne, Carlos Santana (solo with a guitar), Akon, T-Pain, LL Cool J, Will.i.am, Snoop Dogg, Busta Rhymes, Swizz Beatz, Iyaz and Kanye West.

Extras appearing in the video are Patti Austin, Zac Brown, Jimmy Jean-Louis, A. R. Rahman, Gladys Knight, Shakira, Musiq Soulchild, Randy Jackson, Taj Jackson, Taryll Jackson, TJ Jackson, Sean Garrett, Benji Madden, Joel Madden, Al Jardine, India.Arie, Brian Wilson, Julianne Hough, Keri Hilson, Tyrese Gibson, Robin Thicke, Joe Jonas, Kevin Jonas, Trey Songz, Harry Connick Jr., Vince Vaughn, Ethan Bortnick, Faith Evans, Kid Cudi, Bizzy Bone, Jeff Bridges, Raphael Saadiq, Nicole Richie, Ann Wilson and Nancy Wilson.

Click on the image below to play the behind-the-scenes interviews (pt 1) on YouTube

Click on the image below to play the behind-the-scenes interviews (pt 2) on YouTube