The New Tenants

The New Tenants, a 21 minute film directed by Joachim Back, has been nominated for Best Live Action Short Film at the 2010 Academy Awards. Two men move into a new apartment on what might be the worst moving day ever. A prying neighbor, a glassy-eyed drug dealer, and a husband brandishing both a weapon and a vendetta make up the welcome wagon. Their new apartment reveals its terrifying history in a film that is by turns funny, frightening, and unexpectedly romantic. See the New Tenants trailer online at or view it here in Vimeo format.

David Rakoff as Frank in The New Tenants


The New Tenants was written by Anders Thomas Jensen and adapted by David Rakoff. Filming was directed by Joachim Back and produced at M&M Productions and Park Pictures by executive producers Lance Acord, Mette Ambro, Jackie Kelman Bisbee, Gigi Realini, Jean Villiers, producers Sam Bisbee, Johanne Stryhn Felding, Erika Hampson, Tivi Magnusson, Christian Potalivo, director of photography Pawel Edelman, production designer Janet Kim.

Post production was done at The Whitehouse Post by editor Russell Icke and executive producer Kate O’Mulloy.

Special effects were produced at Smoke & Mirrors by chief creative officer Sean Broughton, lead VFX/Flame artist Sam Caine, Flame assistant Ross Vincent and producer Paul O’Beirne.

Colorist was Jean Clement Soret at Moving Picture Company.

Further effects were produced at PostWorks.

Original Music is by Laurent Parisi.

Cast are Vincent D’Onofrio (Jan), Kevin Corrigan (Zelko), Liane Balaban (Irene), Jamie Harrold (Peter) and David Rakoff (Frank).

The five live action short films nominated at the 2010 Academy Awards are Instead of Abracadabra, The Door, Miracle Fish, Kavi, The New Tenants.

The five animated short films nominated at the 2010 Academy Awards A Matter of Loaf and Death, Logorama, French Roast, The Lady and the Reaper, Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty.