Gatorade Journey to Super Bowl

Gatorade is running “Journey”, a 90 second television commercial, during the Super Bowl pre-game show on CBS as well as on ESPN and NFL Network following the game. Rapper and actor Common provides the voiceover as twelve teams are narrowed down to eight teams, to four teams, to two teams, to one. “Journey” provides the viewer access they normally don’t get to the game-day experience and provides them a rare peak into each of the three stages of the game the before, the during and the after and highlight Gatorade’s G Series, Gatorade Prime 01, Gatorade Perform 02 and Gatorade Recover 03.

Gatorade Journey commercial

Click on the image below to play the video.


The Journey was developed at TBWA\Chiat\Day Los Angeles by worldwide creative director Lee Clow, chief creative officer Rob Schwartz, group creative director Jimmy Smith, creative director Jayanta Jenkins, associate creative director/copywriter Steve Howard, associate creative director/art director Brent Anderson, executive producer Sarah Patterson, senior producer Veronica Beach and account supervisor Sandra Miks.

Filming was shot by director Henry-Alex Rubin via Smuggler with executive producer Brian Carmody, producer Rhonda Vernet and director of photography Bryan Newman.

Editor was Brad Waskewich at Spotwelders with executive producer David Glean.

Visual effects were produced at The Mill, Los Angeles.

Music was produced at Beacon Street Studios. Sound was mixed and designed at Lime Studios by engineer Rohan Young.


NFL players featured in the spot include Peyton Manning and Dwight Freeney, Indianapolis Colts, LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego Chargers, Drew Brees and Reggie Bush, New Orleans Saints, Mark Sanchez and Darrelle Rivas, New York Jets, Marion Barber, Dallas Cowboys, Early Doucet, Arizona Cardinals, Mark Clayton, Baltimore Ravens, Jared Allen, Minnesota Vikings.

The twelve teams are the Indianapolis Colts, San Diego Chargers, New York Jets, New Orleans Saints, Minnesota Vikings, Cincinnati Bengals, Dallas Cowboys, Philadelphia Eagles, Baltimore Ravens, New England Patriots, Green Bay Packers, and the Arizona Cardinals.